State Aid to Public Libraries

Arkansas State Aid to Public Libraries

May 13, 2016
Members of the Baxter County Library Board elected in a special meeting on May 12 to reinstate Sunday Library hours, effective in September of this year.  They made the determination after an announcement last week that Governor Asa Hutchinson and state legislators appropriated some of the state’s rainy day funds to restore funding to public libraries.  These rainy day funds will be incorporated into funds received by public libraries from the state beginning in September.

Funding to public libraries was cut last year in legislative budget session, and to be fiscally responsible, Baxter County Library Board members cut Sunday hours at that time.  Board members are thankful that the funding has been restored and look forward to reintroducing four hours on Sundays this fall.

Help us say Thank You

Join us in letting our elected officials know how much we appreciate them directing state rainy day funds to Arkansas Public Libraries.

Elected Officials Contact List

Governor Asa Hutchinson
State Capitol, Room 250
500 Woodlane Ave.
Little Rock, AR  72201
To Send email:

Arkansas Department of Education Commissioner – Johnny Key
Four Capitol Mall, Room 304-A
Little Rock, AR 72201

State Senate

District 18 – Missy Irvin
P. O. Box 106
Mountain View, 72560

District 17 – Scott Flippo
P.O. Box 705
Bull Shoals, 72619

House of Representatives

District 100 – Nelda Speaks
P.O. Box 1016
Mountain Home, AR 72654

District 99 – Kelley Linck
13823 Highway 14 S
Yellville, AR 72687-7848

District 61 – Scott Baltz
4589 Highway 90 West
Pocahontas, AR 72455

Members of the Joint Budget Committee

For a complete list, visit